You’re probably familiar with your zodiac sign (the astrological assignment based on your date of birth). They reveal characteristics and personality traits that can help you further understand yourself and your emotions. If you dive a little deeper, you will find another classification of a fire, earth, air or water sign based on your zodiac. Let’s take a look at what those assignments mean.


Fire Sign- Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

Fire signs are possessors of the three I’s: Insight, impulse and inspiration. According to an article on, “They’re prone to sudden illuminating flashes of insight and bursts of enthusiasm. Like fire itself, they can flare up when inspired, making them seem very passionate about life. They like to live large and often feel frustrated by mundane chores and duties. Fire signs are known to be intuitive and to rely on gut instincts. Going on faith in their inner guidance gets them far, but they tend to skip crucial steps or be unaware of the emotional impact of their actions.”


Earth Sign- Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

Earth signs are highly connected to their senses. They are grounded and tend to believe slow and steady wins the race. Earth signs are loyal, stable and are known to be go- getters that can produce real results. Despite these inclinations for success, earth signs benefit by having someone to balance them out. They can get hung up on surface things and tend to gravitate towards bad habits such as materialism, stubbornness, pettiness, or being a workaholic.

Water signs

Water Sign- Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Water signs are known to be extremely sensitive and in- tune with feelings. An article written for elaborates by saying, “The Water signs in Western astrology are known for their emotional sensitivity and psychic intuition. They often have a rich emotional and romantic life, filled with emotional ups-and-downs. They are keenly attuned to other people’s moods, secrets and intentions. They often know things without being able to explain how they know them. They often are artistic, guided primarily by their intuition and capability for human empathy. They are often attracted to partners who can give them structure, safety and dependability, because their own lives, guided by emotion and intuition, can often be changeable and unpredictable. They tend to form strong, even passionate relationships, and will tend to trust their hearts before they trust their intellects.”


Air Sign- Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

Air signs are knows to be incredibly refreshing individuals. They can typically be found in leadership positions. Communicating and socializing are very important to them. Air signs are intellectuals who enjoy putting words into action and moving forward. Additionally, they have rational, analytical minds and are capable of handling analytical thinking while also maintaining the ability to be creative.


Learning more about your elemental sign will help you understand yourself on a deeper level. It can also help you identify characteristics that you may need to tame or work to develop.