Water signs

Most people are familiar with the twelve zodiac signs, but not so much with the element that is associated with their sign. The four main elements: air, earth, fire, and water; each are paired with three zodiac signs. Greek philosophers as well as alchemist have studied in depth these four elements along with their associated sign and have determined that certain elements are more compatible together than others. Generally air and fire mesh well, and water and earth are better together. This makes perfect sense if you think about it in a literal way; air keeps fire burning and water helps the earth to grow. Here listed are the four elements and some insights that will help you understand the signs on a deeper level.

Air  (Libra, Aquarius, Gemini)

This element may be invisible, but is arguably the most powerful of the four. It links all the other elements together so they can better provide for us. Air supplies all that lives on the earth the ability to breathe, both in the sky above and water below. Air also is the fuel that keeps fire burning and without its presence, the flame would be extinguished. Air signs typically have a strong urge to feel free and have a difficult time fitting in. Air signs want to feel liberated and stay authentic.

Earth   (Capricorn, Taurus, Virgo)

Earth gives the rest of the elements purpose. Without the earth, none of us would even be in existence. The earth is immovable and so can be the signs associated with it. Earth signs are known to be stubborn or hard headed. Just as the earth follows patterns that give proven results, so do earth signs, and they don’t like to stray from what is known. Stability and reliability are the strengths we see in the earth and its signs.

Fire   (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius)

Fire is the only element that truly can truly shine, and the personality traits of the zodiac signs associated with fire reflect that. We can see shimmers within the water but it is only a reflection of the light that only fire can provide. Fire is likened to the sun and represents energy in its purest form. Its signs are born with that same power and energy and can lack compassion as a result.

Water  (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces)

Water is the source that sustains all life. It is constantly moving and can take on new forms or shapes but still remain true to oneself.  Water is giving and so are its signs. Water signs have deep emotional connections to people and can feel what they feel just like water can feel all the places it’s been in times past. Without water nothing living on earth would survive.

Having a little more knowledge about the four elements and how they operate helps us to realize that they all work together to help each other succeed and become one cohesive unit. This can be the same for us as we try to better understand the signs around us. We all can benefit from striving to become one.